+44 207 062 60 77

What is IELTS?

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS), is an international test of English language proficiency for non-native English language speakers. IELTS is the only English Language Test approved by UK Visas and Immigration (UKVI) for visa candidates applying from both outside and inside the UK. They must complete the ‘academic version’ of the IELTS, according to the NMC’s requirements.

All non-EU trained applicants to the nurses or midwives part of the register must complete the International English Language Test (IELTS) before sending their application to us.

They must complete the academic version of the IELTS test and achieve:

  • at least 7.0 in the listening, reading and speaking sections
  • at least 6.5 in the writing section, and
  • at least 7.0 (out of a possible 9) overall.

Applicants may provide two IELTS test certificates to meet the above requirements, but must not have scored below 6.5 in any categories, in either of the test sittings. The two test sittings must be taken within six months of each other to be considered. IELTS scores are valid for two years.

IELTS Petition

We strongly believe that, the current IELTS score for nurses to UK set by NMC is too high and it's not the right choice for overseas nurses registration. Our CEO Febin Cyriac has a started an e-petition to NMC to reduce the current IELTS Score. Please show your support by signing the petition.